Rate Thread
Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
Buying a bike again
08-11-2013, 04:32 AM (This post was last modified: 08-11-2013 04:33 AM by Rev. That Guy.)
RE: Buying a bike again
(08-10-2013 08:44 PM)JetMech Wrote:  
(08-10-2013 07:49 PM)That Guy Wrote:  The guy that flipped a low power 650r wants an r1?

Send me all your info and social security number so I can take out a life insurance policy on you.

I keed I keed.

But seriously tho, don't get an r1. It's a lot of bike, even for experienced riders.

- J

Really? If I were to ever sell my 7-fiddy, in its place would go an R1.

And likely because it is a bigger, faster bike, right? case in point.

And LT, im not trying to bust your balls too bad here, just giving a friendly bit of real advise. And R1 is a serious machine - any litre bike is, and they tend to not be very forgiving if you don't know what your doing and things can go wrong in a big hurry with that kind of power. Hell, I have been riding for 15 years now and frankly see NO reason to need that kind of power (but don't get me wrong, I have an RC51, I like having it, just don't need it) on the street. A 600 is still WAY faster than you will ever really need and frankly lighter and easier to handle. In a track environment, I would rather be on a 600 than a 1000 for that very reason.

find yourself a good 600 class bike. One that has plenty of potential so that you wont grow out of it too fast, but also that is fairly forgiving as most 600s are. some more than others. Ask around, do some research. Proper due diligence will go a long way in your survival and enjoyment of the sport. But that is just my opinion. Take it as you will but dont confuse our advise as making fun of you or anything like that. I think I speak for all of us when we say we dont want to read about another fatality or bike wreck.

- Justin

"You were taking it easy right? Because I could keep up with
you and from what I understand, I shouldn't be able to do that..."
- Ken "No Neck"